The Fascination around Berlin’s ‘Berghain’

A few weeks ago I posted a blog venting my anger about the frustrating tactics of nightclub promotersnath

This industry relies so heavily on having a digital to get people through their door and promote their venue to as many people as possible.

When I was recently researching places I will be travelling to on my upcoming trip to Europe, I came across a nightclub in Berlin called ‘Berghain’. This place has been voted as the best nightclub in the world numerous times.

Now some of you may have heard about it, others may have not. If you haven’t let me paint a picture of my understanding of this place:

  • It is open from Thursday night to Monday afternoon, it literally doesn’t close…
  • It is traditionally a gay club and while there are heaps of heterosexual people, you may see things that could be deemed disturbing
  • It is situated in an old abandoned powerplant (yes, that run down old building)Berghain
  • If you don’t fit ‘their look’ then you won’t get in. They knock back more people than they let in (apparently Brittany Spears and Kanye West are two people to be knocked back!)
  • MOST IMPORTANT: No photos are ever to be taken from within the walls of ‘Berghain’.

So back to my point about how nightclubs rely on digital platforms… This place, that has been voted the number one nightclub in the world, basically doesn’t have an online presence. Pretty much the only information that can be found online has been shared by those who have actually entered the famous ‘Berghain’ doors. Never directed by the place itself.

They don’t have their own Facebook, Instagram, Twitter… Nothing. They have a very basic website and that’s it. Yet ‘Berghain’ is considered one of the top tourist attractions in Berlin. Crazy right…

Do you think that ‘Berghains’ lack of online presence and vision from inside the doors increases peoples fascination with this place?

Can you think of any other brands/organisations that have resisted from shifting online?

Do you have any stories from this infamous nightclub!?

Discuss!

10 thoughts on “The Fascination around Berlin’s ‘Berghain’

  1. I think this shows that digital marketing is NOT the be all end all !!! Berghain exemplifies this, I’ve heard the lines to get in are ridiculously long there s a real mystique around this BUT i hope you give it a crack and try get in?

    Like

  2. I’ve been to Berlin a few times and tried each time and been knocked back! It is ridiculously strict if you are a tourist and even talk to your friend in the line chances are they won’t let you in and if your in a big group or not wearing grungy black clothing then not a chance! This is a great example that shows that social media and online presence is not 100% necessary. This club is known for the disturbing things that go in behind the doors and if they public knew or photos were shared I’m sure it would go under investigation. The lack of presence on social media makes it more desirable for tourists to go and check it out after hearing stories! I think if it was all over social media with promoters begging people to come it would be a lot less popular!

    Like

  3. I am not much of clubber, but after reading your post even I want to go to this nightclub! From my response, I think their lack of online presence is definitely a driver of their success. It just goes to show that digital isn’t always necessary in this tech-savvy generation. This is the first thing that I’ve heard of that has been moving away from digital, rather than towards. Let us know if you end up getting in!

    Like

  4. I guess it shows that the old-fashioned ‘word of mouth’ marketing can be effective in this day and age! It’s pretty interesting how Berghain remains so popular however, because ‘word of mouth’ is effective, but surely they’d need to incorporate some other forms of marketing.

    Might have to check the place out when I head to Europe next.

    Like

Leave a comment